Alone but not lonely

Image

 

 

Waking up to a sunrise is one of the most beautiful moments I have had recently. The sun’s rays woke me up before the alarm did. I experienced a sense of quiet joy which overwhelmed me in a positive way.

There was an immense satisfaction knowing that I could be so joyful despite being alone in a beautiful hotel. Being alone felt like a privilege because in most Asian families, the collective We is more important than the self. We are not encouraged to find joy in the self. If you are 30 and still unattached or married, you wil be nagged to death on the importance of finding somebody.

Don’t get me wrong – I love my family (those who are worthy of my love and care, of course) and am always happy for my beloved friends when they have found their plus ones.

But this joy of solitude is so empowering because all your positive and negative emotions are your own. There is no one to impress. There is no one to be accountable to but yourself. You are just you.

Take that trip alone. You will learn much more about yourself and how you really feel about others in your life.

Go watch a movie by yourself. You will learn that focusing on the dialogues and the script can help you be more analytical and observant.

Celebrate this solitude because you owe yourself this peace.

Leave a Reply

