The Problem with Time

Who are you waiting for?

Don’t wait around for life to happen – go get it!

When I was living in Germany (Lubeck) or in Australia (Melbourne), I would be acutely aware of the passing of time. The trees would change its colours as if to remind me not to waste anymore time. The wind would change its direction as if to guide me from falling into the cracks. The change of season also reminded me that nothing is permanent.

I know that I have said goodbye to February in the space and time that we exist in. But inside my mind, nothing has changed. It was more evident when I moved back home to Singapore; time seems to have stood still. The days are the same; the balmy weather and cool winds don’t tell me anything about my world. I move on to the next day. I forgot myself and got caught up in the endless race of meaningless pursuits.

Tonight, I am reminded of the need to find my purpose.

My best friend once said, “We don’t really live until we start to die.” How true. Only when we get a deadline or an expiry date would we start to fret and appreciate time and the people around us. Only when we are faced with an irreversible truth would we then seek for meaning and purpose.

***

Don’t wait until it is too late to be the change you want to see.

Don’t wait until you run out of time to start planning  your bucket list.

Tonight, I will.

Leave a Reply

