A Promise to Myself

We are all here on earth to help others; what on earth the others are here for I don’t know.
— W. H. Auden

Have you ever want to do your best for a cause but people are simply the biggest barrier and obstacle in your way?
I learnt a lesson on sticking to my beliefs. But yes, I will make an effort to be a better listener. But of course, when the other party doesn’t deserve my time, I will not hesitate to decline any participation.

In any case, I promise myself that:

I will say what I mean and mean what I say.
I will not pander to the egos of people.
I will not sugarcoat my thoughts and truth.
I will not be afraid to point out the insecurities, inadequacies and inefficiencies of the system and people.
I refuse to be a messenger (since the messenger will get shot anyway); i rather be shot defending my beliefs, values and truth than be someone else’s mouthpiece.
I will not mix with pseudo-leaders who only care about protecting their own interests because i honestly have zero patience for bullshit.

Most importantly, I will not be indifferent in every aspect of my career because I am paid to make a difference. Indifference is the worst form of human trait I have ever known.

Remember, if you ever want to turn a blind eye to any situation, think of the endless possibilities and opportunities you may lose in helping the world be a better place.

Leave a Reply

